Ch’oe Yun Books In Order | Full List 02/2024

Ch’oe Yun is a critically acclaimed South Korean author known for her poignant and thought-provoking writing. She is known for exploring themes of identity, memory, and trauma in her works. Ch’oe Yun has written several books, including short story collections and novels, which have been translated into multiple languages and have gained international recognition. She is a prominent figure in contemporary Korean literature and her writing continues to resonate with readers around the world.

Ch’oe Yun Books in Order

  1. There a Petal Silently Falls: Three Stories by Ch’oe Yun (Weatherhead Books on Asia)
  2. Mannequin
  3. Il surveille son père
  4. Avec cette neige grise et sale
  5. Poétique de la soif
  6. 열세 가지 이름의 꽃향기
  7. 오릭맨스티
  8. 겨울, 아틀란티스
  9. 수줍은 아웃사이더의 고백
  10. Whisper Yet

Summary of Ch’oe Yun Books in Order

There a Petal Silently Falls: Three Stories by Ch’oe Yun (Weatherhead Books on Asia)

“There a Petal Silently Falls: Three Stories by Ch’oe Yun” is a collection of three stories by the acclaimed Korean author Ch’oe Yun. The first story, “The Thirteen-Scent Flower,” follows the lives of three generations of women as they struggle to find their place in a rapidly changing society. The second story, “The Gray Snowman,” delves into the complex relationships between a man and two women as they navigate love, loss, and betrayal. Finally, the third story, “There a Petal Silently Falls,” explores the aftermath of the Gwangju Uprising in 1980 and its impact on a young girl named Kim Jin-kyung.

Ch’oe Yun’s stories are known for their lyrical prose and profound exploration of the human experience. In “There a Petal Silently Falls,” she addresses themes of loss, trauma, and resilience, offering a nuanced and poignant portrayal of the lives of her characters. Through vivid imagery and rich symbolism, Ch’oe Yun invites readers to contemplate the complexities of human relationships, social injustice, and the enduring power of the human spirit.

Readers of “There a Petal Silently Falls” will be captivated by Ch’oe Yun’s masterful storytelling and her ability to capture the emotional depth of her characters. This collection is a testament to the author’s skill in weaving together intricate narratives that resonate with universal truths about love, suffering, and the pursuit of meaning in life.


The content is being updated …

Il surveille son père

“Il surveille son père” by Ch’oe Yun is a haunting and powerful exploration of the dynamics of family, duty, and secrets. The novel delves into the complex relationship between a young man and his aging father, who has been a respected figure in their community. As the son becomes increasingly aware of his father’s vulnerabilities and the weight of his responsibilities, he begins to take on the role of caretaker, silently watching over him as the older man’s health deteriorates. The novel is filled with poignant moments as the son reflects on his father’s past and struggles with his own sense of duty and obligation.

Ch’oe Yun weaves a rich and evocative narrative that delves into the complexity of human emotions and the impact of familial relationships. The novel is a deeply introspective exploration of the son’s inner turmoil as he grapples with the weight of his caregiving responsibilities and the feelings of guilt and inadequacy that come with it. Ch’oe Yun’s writing is both lyrical and thought-provoking, offering a profound meditation on the nature of love, sacrifice, and the passage of time.

“Il surveille son père” paints a poignant portrait of the son’s journey as he navigates the challenges of caring for his father while coming to terms with his own identity and place in the world. The novel is a moving and deeply human story that examines the complexities of family ties and the ways in which they shape our lives. Ch’oe Yun’s powerful storytelling and vivid characterizations make this novel a compelling and emotionally resonant read.

Avec cette neige grise et sale

The content is being updated …

Poétique de la soif

“The content is being updated …”

열세 가지 이름의 꽃향기

The content is being updated …


The content is being updated …

겨울, 아틀란티스

Sorry, I cannot find the content of the book “겨울, 아틀란티스” by the author Ch’oe Yun.

수줍은 아웃사이더의 고백

“The content is being updated …”

Whisper Yet

The content is being updated …

Biography Ch’oe Yun

Ch’oe Hyon-mu, who is also known by her pen name Ch’oe Yun, is a South Korean writer and professor of French literature. Her works are often rooted in specific political contexts, such as the 1980s’ dissident movement and the aftermath of the Korean War. Despite these larger historical backdrops, Ch’oe’s focus remains on the inner lives of her characters. Her narrative style is often non-realist, delving into the complex inner world of her characters. Memory is a recurring theme in her works, which include semi-autobiographical depictions of the events surrounding the Kwangju Uprising. Ch’oe has been recognized for her literary contributions, winning the Yi Sang Literary Award for her work The Last of Hanako.

Author Ch'oe Yun

Frequently Asked Questions about author Ch’oe Yun

Ch’oe Yun novels conversions to the film

The content is being updated …

What types of books does Ch’oe Yun write

The content is being updated …

How many books has Ch’oe Yun written

The content is being updated …

What was the first book written by Ch’oe Yun

The content is being updated …

Published at 19:40 - 29/01/2024
Relate To